Mobile Wine Apps

8/10 Updated – More apps based upon your suggestions! Look forward to a future post including more reviews of other platforms (Blackberry, WinMo, etc.)

It should be no surprise by now that I work in technology. As such, I’ve got a special relationship with my smartphone. So it’s only logical that I try to integrate wine into my mobile life. As Apple has made me come to expect, there’s an app for that, too.

So, I’ve done some research for y’all and compiled the best wine apps across Android and Apple platforms below. Take a look and let me know if I missed any good ones.

iPhone
* Hello Vino. Provides suggestions for wine and food pairing in a clean interface. Free.
* Wine Enthusiast Guide. Made by the esteemed wine magazine, the app aggregates the 68,000+ reviews they’ve published over the years. If you’re into the critics, a good bet. $4.99.
* Wine Snob. Similar to the other apps but adds input from sommeliers and winemakers to give it a more professional touch. $5.99.
* Nat Decants. Per the creator herself, includes “…pairings, reviews, recipes, cellar journal, etc.” Looks good at first glance. Also has Blackberry support and Android on the way.

Android
* Swirl. Aggregates Snooth content including catalogue of 100,000+ wines, community reviews and pairing suggestions. Free.
* Wine+. Track tasting notes and cellar inventory with this straightforward looking app. $1.99.

[Image Credit: Sacre Bleu Wine]

28 responses to “Mobile Wine Apps

  1. Hey! I need some for Blackberry.

  2. @CultureChoc2010 – Good idea! I’ll make that a future post. 🙂

  3. Great reviews! Hope you’ll consider the free Nat Decants wine app for a future review. It has 10 apps in 1: pairings, reviews, recipes, cellar journal, etc.

    It was chosen by the NY Times and Computerworld as their top 5 food and wine apps. For iPhone, iPod Touch, BlackBerry and very soon Droid.

    Cheers,
    Natalie

    http://www.nataliemaclean.com/mobileapp

  4. Thank you for this and wait for the next

  5. Nice! Anything for WinMO platform?

  6. How bout http://www.cellartracker.com … I love this site but wish it had a barcode scan upload feature.

    • Awesome site and great way to get reviews of old or hard to find wines. However, I don’t believe they have a mobile app, just a mobile version of their website. Last I tried it on my Android phone, I wasn’t that impressed with the mobile interface.

  7. Thanks so much for this post. I love my iPhone and I love wine and I’ve never taken the time to look through the many wine apps. Thanks for making it easy for me!

  8. @Alan – thanks for the suggestion! will add to the list.

  9. Pingback: Mobile Wine! | urbanebeast's blog

  10. Thanks for including the free Hello Vino iPhone app in your list!

    In addition to the food and wine pairings in our app, we also have reviews from online wine writers to help you discover new wines, as well as a “Search” feature that allows you to look up wine tasting notes and ratings from both professionals and peers.

    One other note: Hello Vino works on any mobile device – simply browse to HelloVino.com on your smartphone and you’re good to go.

    Thanks again for the mention, Cheers!

    – The Hello Vino Team

  11. Charity Froggenhall

    I actually bought Bento & created my own wine database. I put in fields that mean something to us, like wines our parents liked, or wines we’d serve as a first or second bottle at a dinner party. 😉

  12. Good list. I have Wine Ratings by Nirvino, which is decent. Although I find it a little lacking in intuitive searching and more about what store you live by (but only if you live near a BevMo or Costco that actually sells wine. Sorry CT!!

  13. I just started using Wine Snob last week. I was in a grocery store and trying to find a wine for dinner with some white fish. I thought “Hey I bet there’s an app for that”.. Sure ’nuff!

    http://sociosound.wordpress.com

    Congrats on being freshly pressed!

  14. An excellent use for my iPhone!! It’s certainly something I can use to plicate the wife when she complains I’m on my phone too much

    “just getting you some wine dear…….”

    http://danjswade.wordpress.com

  15. Neat apps, I never thought to look for a wine app. This will come in handy when planning meals and deciding which wines to purchase.

  16. Mmm, I’d like that but for vodka though. OR, mixed drinks and how many calories are and how to do it at home, which I know there must be an app for both of those.

  17. Thanks so much Joe! I should add that in addition to the apps for iPhone, iPod Touch and BlackBerry, my mobile site also works on any smartphone:

    http://www.nataliemaclean.com/mobile

  18. I will have to try that in my ipod. thanks a lot. It can become a substitute sometimes

  19. Pingback: Mobile Wine Apps :: Beyond iPhone « chicone's liquor mart : the blog

  20. Wow good information and very useful!!!
    Should try to replicate it home … thanks for the info, it is very useful and helpful for me they are new.

  21. Pingback: Part II: Mobile Wine Apps | The Oenologist: Sipping on Wine Culture

  22. Wonderful, thanks for adding the Nat Decants app! It’s also Free 🙂

    The mobile site works on all smartphones.

    Cheers,
    Natalie

    Nat Decants Wine Reviews, Pairings and Recipes Free App

    http://www.nataliemaclean.com/mobileapp

Leave a Reply

